Skip to main content

VLGA/ALGWA 2017 women Mayors event

Mayors-Minister IMG_3364.jpg

The Victorian women Mayors of 2017


In a record year where 32 or 40% women Mayors were elected, were welcomed to Parliament House’s Federation Room by Danielle Green MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Victoria, Tourism and Major Events.

The 2017 Women Mayor’s event was facilitated by Ruth McGowan OAM and featured a panel discussion on the topic of #powerful partnerships with Mayors Cr Deb Nelson– Hindmarsh, Cr Sandra Wilson - Hobsons Bay, Cr Bernedene Voss - Port Phillip, Cr Carolyn Crossley – Wellington, and Cr Amanda Stone – Yarra. 

The panel speakers reflected on the partnerships between Buloke/Hobsons Bay, Wellington/City of Yarra, Hindmarsh/Port Phillip, and some regional partnerships. Themes emerging from this conversation included he benefits of collaboration (expected and unexpected), how to build trust between partners, challenges in maintaining partnerships and when to end them, , how one Council can support another and issues around sustaining partnerships across local governments and regions over different council terms.

The Minister for Local Government and Aboriginal Affairs, The Hon Natalie Hutchins, and the Shadow Minister for Planning, Local Government and Equality, David Davis joined the conversations later during the informal cocktail reception. 

The VLGA is committed to connecting communities and strengthening democracy

Join the conversation

j r