

Victorian Local Governance Association Annual General Meeting 2021 18 November 2021

Draft Minutes

Meeting held virtually via Zoom link The meeting commenced at: 4.30 pm

| 1. Attendance, Apologies & Proxies | |
|------------------------------------|--|
| Introduction and Apologies | Present: Chair: |
| | VLGA President, Cr Denise Massoud, Whitehorse City Council |
| | VLGA Board Members: |
| | Louise Hill, Independent Board Member |
| | Andrew Sloman, Independent Board Member |
| | Cr Susanne Newton, City of Darebin |
| | Cr Grace La Vella, |
| | Cr Josh Fergeus, Monash City Council |
| | Cr Steve Holland, Mornington Peninsula Shire Council |
| | Cr Collin Ross, Cardinia Shire Council |
| | Leanne Mulcahy, Governance and Risk Committee Member |
| | Mark Davies, Governance and Risk Committee Member |
| | Member councillors present via Zoom (online): |
| | Cr Penny Flynn, Horsham Rural City Council |
| | Cr Rhonda Sanderson, Mitchell Shire Council |
| | Lydia Wilson, Whittlesea City Council |
| | Cr Liesbeth Long, Central Goldfields Shire Council |
| | Cr Jane Ogden, Gannawarra Shire Council |
| | Cr Claudia Haenel, Horsham Rural City Council |
| | Cr Anna De Villiers, Central Goldfields Shire Council |
| | Cr Steve Staikos, Kingston City Council |
| | Cr Lauren Dempsey, Northern Grampians Shire Council |
| | Cr Sam Misho, Hume City Council |
| | Cr Andrew Munroe, Whitehorse City Council |
| | Cr Chrissy Weller, Campaspe Shire Council |
| | Cr Lambros Tapinos, Moreland City Council |
| | Cr Prue Cutts, Whitehorse City Council |
| | Cr Frances Eyre, Nillumbik Shire Council |
| | Cr Jeff Springfield, Cardinia Shire Council |
| | Cr Despi O'Connor, Mornington Peninsula Shire Council |



| | Peita Duncan, Whittlesea City Council, Administrator |
|----------------------------|---|
| | Cr Mark Riley, Moreland City Council |
| | • |
| | Cr Jennifer Anderson, Macedon Ranges Shire Council |
| | Cr Amanda Stone, Yarra City Council |
| | Cr Janet Pearce, Macedon Ranges Shire Council |
| | Cr Michelle Kleinert, Manningham City Council |
| | Non-member councillors present via Zoom (online): |
| | Cr Wendy Murphy, Loddon Shire Council |
| | Cr Suzanne Stojanovic, Maroondah City Council |
| | Patron Member |
| | Hayden Raysmith AM |
| | Life Members |
| | Terry Larkins OAM PSM |
| | Glenyys Romanes AM |
| | Tom Moloney |
| | Peter Johnstone OAM |
| | Others/observers: |
| | Tony Raunic, Hunt & Hunt Lawyers |
| | Adam Kempton |
| | Michael Shulman, Stannards |
| | Nicole Dickson, Essential Assistance |
| | Tony De Fazio |
| | Jillian Edwards |
| | Guest Speaker |
| | Peggy O'Neal AO |
| | Master of Ceremonies |
| | Chris Eddy |
| | VLGA Staff: |
| | Kathryn Arndt, CEO |
| | Steve Cooper, Chief of Staff |
| | Deborah Wu, Inclusion & Diversity Program Lead |
| | Sue Prendergast, Executive Assistant |
| | Apologies: |
| | Nil |
| 2. | Note re: motions. All voting at the meeting was conducted via the |
| | virtual poll functionality on Zoom. |
| 3. Minutes of the previous | Motion : That the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 25 |
| meeting | February 2021 be accepted. |
| | , |
| | Moved: Louise Hill, VLGA Vice-president |
| | moved. Louise riii, v Lort vice president |



| | Seconded: Cr Mark Riley, Moreland City Council | |
|--|---|--|
| | Carried | |
| 4. President's Report – Cr Denise Massoud | Motion : That the President's Report be received. | |
| Demise Massoud | Moved: Cr Grace La Vella, Central Goldfields Shire Council | |
| | Seconded: Cr Prue Cutts, Whitehorse City Council | |
| | | |
| | Carried | |
| 5. Receipt of Audited 2019- | Motion: That the Audited 2020-2021 Financial Statements | |
| 20 Financial Statements | (incorporating Treasurer's Report) be received. | |
| (incorporating | | |
| Treasurer's Report) – | Moved: Cr Susanne Newton, Darebin City Council | |
| Andrew Sloman | Seconded: Cr Josh Fergus, Monash City Council | |
| | Carried | |
| 6. Confirmation of | Motion: That Stannards Accountants and Advisors Pty Ltd be | |
| Auditors for 2021-2022 | confirmed as auditors for the 2021/22 financial year. | |
| financial year | | |
| | Moved: Andrew Sloman, VLGA Treasurer | |
| | Seconded: Cr Grace La Vella, Central Goldfields Shire Council | |
| | Carried | |
| 7. CEO's Report – Kathryn Arndt | The Chief Executive Officer's report was a video presentation incorporating the VLGA's 2020 Annual Report. | |
| | Motion: That the Chief Executive Officer's Report and Annual Report for the 2020-2021 year be received.' | |
| | Moved: Cr Collin Ross, Cardinia Shire Council | |
| | Seconded: Cr Despi O'Connor, Mornington Peninsula Shire Council | |
| | Carried | |
| 8. Other Business | Nil | |
| The meeting closed at 5.12 pr | The meeting closed at 5.12 pm. | |