Skip to main content
Phone us Mobile menu

The Board is the governing body of the VLGA and sets long term strategy and policy for the organisation


VLGA Board

The Board is the governing body of the VLGA and sets long term strategy and policy for the organisation.

The VLGA Board has the power to perform all such acts and things as appear to the Board to be essential for the proper management of the business and affairs of the VLGA.

Elections for the positions of the Board take place in February every two years with the last election held in February 2017.
Each member of the Board holds office for two years and is eligible for re-election. All VLGA individual members, member community organisations and councillors from member councils (who have signed a declaration form) are eligible to vote.

The Board consists of the six councillor members (including the President) and three community members. The Board also has the power to co-opt under the Constitution.


Chief Executive Officer

Kathryn ArndtKA.jpg

Kathryn Arndt was appointed as CEO of the Victorian Local Governance Association (VLGA) in January 2017.

Prior to her commencement at the VLGA she held senior management positions in the Community Services and Financial Services sectors and worked as a consultant specialising in strategic management and governance.

She has expertise and many years of experience as a non-executive director and currently sits on the board of Diabetes Victoria; is the Deputy Chair, Access Health and Community, and Honorary Secretary, Royal Melbourne Tennis Club.

Kathryn is particularly passionate about applying her skills in the community and not for profit space to create valued and sustainable models of engagement supported by effective governance processes.  As part of this process Kathryn espouses cross collaboration between government, community, business and not-for-profit organisations to encourage agility and innovative ways of thinking to address complex issues in economic and environmental wellbeing, sustainability, and social justice.

Kathryn holds a Bachelor of Business and Post Graduate qualifications from the Queensland University of Technology.

The VLGA is committed to connecting communities and strengthening democracy

Join the conversation

j r