Victorian Local Government Women's Charter

The Women’s Participation in Local Government Coalition (WPILGC)

The WPILGC was formed in 1997 to work towards the equal participation of women and men in Victorian local government through the Victorian Local Government Women’s Charter. By 2013, as the work for gender equity in local government became stronger, the Coalition dissolved itself and handed responsibility for this work to the statewide organisations, the Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV) and the Victorian Local Governance Association.

The Charter

The Victorian Local Government Women’s Charter promotes the principles of:

  • gender equity
  • encouraging diversity in representation and participation; and
  • women’s active citizenship.

In 2018, the Charter celebrated its 21st year. 74 of Victoria’s 79 councils have become signatories to the Charter, affirming their commitment to improving the representation of women as elected representatives in Victorian councils.

How to become a Charter signatory

To become a Charter signatory, your Council must pass a motion at a Council meeting. You should then nominate a Charter Champion who will drive momentum on gender equality within your council.

This checklist has some great suggestions for actions that can be taken to support the work of the charter.

If you would like more information on becoming a Charter signatory, please contact the VLGA.

Maintaining the momentum

The VLGA recently held a 'Leading the Agenda' working lunch on maintaining the momentum for the three principles of the Victorian Local Government Women's Charter. For the wrap up, including suggested actions click here.

2020 Resources

Suggested actions

Template motion - for affirming/reaffirming the Charter in your council

Charter signatory certificate - please email to obtain a copy of your council's certificate.

Charter signatories - 74 of 79 Victorian councils are signatories to the Charter

  Ararat Rural City Council Ballarat City Council Banyule City Council
Bass Coast Shire Council Baw Baw Shire Council Bayside City Council Benalla Rural City Council
Boroondara City Council Brimbank City Council Buloke Shire Council Campaspe Shire Council
Cardinia Shire Council Casey City Council Central Goldfields Shire Council Colac Otway Shire Council
Corangamite Shire Council Darebin City Council East Gippsland Shire Council Frankston City Council
Gannawarra City Council Glen Eira City Council Glenelg Shire Council Golden Plains Shire Council
Greater Bendigo City Council Greater Dandenong City Council Greater Geelong City Council Greater Shepparton City Council
Hepburn Shire Council Hindmarsh Shire Council Hobsons Bay City Council Horsham Rural City Council
Hume City Council   Kingston City Council Knox City Council
Latrobe City Council Loddon Shire Council Macedon Ranges Shire Council Manningham City Council
Mansfield Shire Council Maribyrnong City Council Maroondah City Council Melbourne City Council
Melton Shire Council Mildura Rural City Council Mitchell Shire Council Moira Shire Council
Monash City Council Moonee Valley City Council Moorabool Shire Council Moreland City Council
Mornington Peninsula Shire Council Mount Alexander Shire Council Moyne Shire Council Murrindindi Shire Council
Nillumbik Shire Council   Port Phillip City Council  
Borough of Queenscliffe South Gippsland Shire Council Southern Grampians Shire Council Stonnington City Council
Strathbogie City Council Surf Coast Shire Council Swan Hill Rural City Council Towong Shire Council
Wangaratta Rural City Council Warrnambool City Council Wellington Shire Council West Wimmera Shire Council
Whitehorse City Council Whittlesea City Council   Wyndham City Council
Yarra City Council Yarra Ranges Shire Council Yarriambiack Shire Council  


Deborah Wu - Inclusion & Diversity Lead or on (03) 9349 7999.