New President for the Victorian Local Governance Association

Friday, 20 August 2021


The VLGA is pleased to announce that Cr Denise Massoud has been elected as the new President for a two-year term. Louise Hill remains as Vice President with Andrew Sloman elected Treasurer.

Cr Massoud is a current councillor at Whitehorse City Council - a position she has held since 2012. She brings with her a wealth of experience in the local government sector, the community, and education.

A graduate and current member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Cr Massoud has held several NFP Board positions and is a member of the Executive Committee for ALGWA VIC and supports other women in their development as community leaders.

The VLGA board is committed to excellence in its role as the governing body of the VLGA - setting long term strategy and policy for the benefit of its members and the local government sector - as well as providing risk and governance oversight for the organisation.

The VLGA Chief Executive Officer Kathryn Arndt and the board is looking forward to working with Cr Massoud in her role as President in the support of good governance in the local government sector.



As an organisation, the VLGA’s overriding value is to strengthen and support good governance in local government, says VLGA Chief Executive Officer Kathryn Arndt, and I am delighted to be working alongside Councillor Massoud in her capacity as the VLGA President to deliver programs which will promote and facilitate trust and confidence in the sector.

I thank the board for their support in electing me as President of the VLGA for the next two years, says Councillor Massoud. I am delighted to be working with such a passionate group in progressing the strategic direction of the VLGA and to continue its focus on supporting good governance in the local government sector.

Media Contact: Liddy Clark 0403 542 411