Two New Board Directors for the VLGA

Tuesday, 22 June 2021

The VLGA is pleased to announce and welcome two new members to their board for a three year period commencing 1 July 2021. 

The VLGA board is committed to excellence in its role as the governing body of the VLGA - setting long term strategy and policy for the benefit of its members and the local government sector as well as providing risk and governance oversight for the organisation.

Cr Josh Fergeus, Monash City Council. Cr Fergeus was elected to Monash City Council in 2016. He is a graduate of the AICD and has held appointments including President of the Foster Care Association of Victoria, Secretary of Defence for Children International, Director of Eastern Innovation Business Centre, Chair of the Eastern Alliance for Greenhouse Action and a Trustee of Literacy International. He has led not-for-profit organisations in public health and disability sectors as a CEO since 2013.

Cr Steve Holland, Mornington Peninsula Shire Council. Cr Holland was elected to council in 2020.  Mornington Peninsula Shire is an interface council and peri-regional in nature. Cr Holland holds a Bachelor of Communication. He is a self-employed Web Developer running a small business from home in Mount Eliza. He is on council’s Audit and Risk Committee and on the executive of the Association of Bayside Municipalities.

The VLGA Chief Executive Officer Kathryn Arndt and the board welcome Josh and Steve and look forward to working with them in the support of good governance in the local government sector.

The VLGA farewells current President Cr Lambros Tapinos whose term expires on 30 June 2021. Cr Tapinos has been a board member of the VLGA since 2013, treasurer for 4 years and president for the past 2 years. The VLGA thanks him for his continued support for the organisation and the sector.

Office bearers for the new board will be elected at their meeting in August.


Please attribute to VLGA Chief Executive Kathryn Arndt.

As an organisation, the VLGA’s overriding value is to strengthen and support good governance in local government, says VLGA Chief Executive Officer Kathryn Arndt, and we are delighted to welcome Cr Fergeus and Cr Holland who both bring with them substantial skills and experience. With the addition of these new board directors, the VLGA board looks forward to working together to promote and facilitate trust and confidence in the sector.

Media Contact: Liddy Clark 0403 542 411